What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, in some oats, and in many prepared foods.
By itself, gluten is not harmful to health. Unless you have a specific medical condition such as celiac disease, gluten can be a part of a healthy, balanced diet.
Many foods that contain gluten are healthy, such as whole grains.
- Many studies have linked consumption of whole grains to lower rates of heart disease and stroke, development of type 2 diabetes, and deaths from all causes.
- Gluten may also act a prebiotic and stimulate the activity of bifidobacteria in the colon, a type of “good” bacteria found in a healthy gut.
- Decreased activity or amounts of bifidobacteria are associated with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), colorectal cancer, and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).
People who should not eat gluten include people who have:
- Celiac disease
- Also called gluten-sensitive enteropathy, celiac sprue, or non-tropical sprue, this condition affects the body's ability to break down certain foods, and consumption of gluten can make people with celiac disease very sick
- The immune system responds abnormally to gluten, resulting in damage to the lining of the small intestine, which is responsible for absorbing food and nutrients
- Damage to the lining of the small intestine can lead to malabsorption of nutrients
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity
- Also called gluten sensitive enteropathy (GSE) or gluten intolerance
- Symptoms are similar to celiac disease, but without the accompanying elevated levels of antibodies and intestinal damage
- GSE is diagnosed based on symptoms and a negative test for celiac disease
- Wheat allergy
- Dermatitis herpetiformis (DH)
- Also called a gluten rash and Duhring’s disease
- A rare, chronic, autoimmune skin condition that occurs in people with celiac disease that is a manifestation of gluten insensitivity.
Foods to Eat on a Gluten Free Diet
Many people follow a gluten-free diet, but if it is not followed properly, it may prevent people from getting all the nutrients they need, and some gluten-free products are high in calories and sugar.
If you have celiac disease, talk to your doctor or a dietician for advice on how to follow a gluten-free diet and also ensure you get the proper nutrients your body needs. They can also advise on nutritional supplements if needed. It is important for people with celiac disease to strictly adhere to a gluten free diet because even small amounts of gluten can aggravate symptoms.
For those who need to follow a gluten-free diet, foods to eat include:
- Fruits and vegetables
- Rice
- Corn
- Potatoes
- Grains such as quinoa, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, sorghum, teff
- Legumes
- Nuts and seeds
- Soybeans
- Meat
- Fish and other seafood
- Poultry
- Eggs
- Flours, pastas, and oats labeled “gluten-free”
- Wine and distilled alcoholic drinks, such as rum, tequila, vodka, and whiskey
- Milk, cheese, and other dairy products
- Some people with celiac disease may have difficulty digesting dairy products
Foods to Avoid on a Gluten Free Diet
In general, foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet include all foods made from or with wheat, rye, and barley, such as:
From
Celiac Disease Resources
https://www.uptodate.com/contents/gluten-free-diet-the-basics?search=gluten&source=search_result&selectedTitle=1~150&usage_type=default&display_rank=1
https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/gluten/
https://www.uptodate.com/contents/celiac-disease-in-adults-beyond-the-basics?search=celiac%20disease&source=search_result&selectedTitle=2~150&usage_type=default&display_rank=2